The Forbidden Queen

“If you ask me what I came to do in this world, I, an artist, will answer you: I am here to live out loud.” ― Émile Zola

To call Maxi a seductive drag-queen would be an understatement of the lowest sort, he is a timeless beauty with a spark of femininity and glamour that cannot be manufactured.

I remember the first time we met in art class at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco; while tempting to contour a nude model in class I was less interested in the nudity of art, but rather…him. Art transcended its meaning as a mirror reflection of some fantasy, but it revealed itself through him in the manner that God has implemented in his soul. I’d dare say he is a modern day Marchesa Luisa Casati. Anaïs Nin beautifully said,“ I am so thirsty for the marvelous that only the marvelous has power over me. Anything I can not transform into something marvelous, I let go. Reality doesn’t impress me. I only believe in intoxication, in ecstasy, and when ordinary life shackles me, I escape, one way or another. No more walls.” Maxi left an ineffable impression on me that’s simply marvelous.

Prior to conversating with Maxi and understanding the meaning of absolute glamour from his prospective, I spent random rainy days on Pier 39 gazing at Alcatraz island. I wondered how Frank Morris and Allen West swam across on that misty night. Inevitably the class was required to meet at The Embarcadero where we would sketch from nature. Maxi, seated next to me, pressed lightly on his sketch book revealing the observation of curious birds as they stood tall on the bars of the Ferry Building Market. We stared in silence analyzing the pleasures of nature as if we were under the tutelage of Monet and his friends painting from nature.

We talked briefly about his hispanic background,makeup, then he showed me more of his sketches. Wow, was I astonished. There I was frustrated and pressing hard on the eraser of my pencil and fettering to illustrate the San Francisco Bay Bridge, while he effortlessly was lost in a reverie of profound artifacts. He showed me the power of transformation not only through his character, but his exuberant quality of making you fall in love with all the facets of life.

Minutes passed before different strangers stopped in awe of Maxi, heads were spinning from his bewitching look. I was a nervous reck from all the attention, I’m sure it’s his usual cup of tea, and if the spot light was on us for much longer I was ready to rush to a near by corner to watch from without. However Maxi attracted all eyes like a bee to a radiant flower, and with his explosive loving personality radiating love to everyone he is pure perfection in all attributes. Anyone who can embrace transformation,like Maxi, renews himself. Friedrich Nitciche had said, ““The snake which cannot cast its skin has to die. As well the minds which are prevented from changing their opinions; they cease to be mind.”

I salute that spirit in Maxi for embracing transformation in spite of opinions.

Leave a Reply

